It is situated in a beautiful spot among pine trees on the southern slopes of the Troodos Mountains. It was originally founded in the 13th century, but the present church was built in 1731. The church has a priceless silver-leaf covered icon of the Virgin Mary.
ther of pearl and stands in front of the iconostastis. The museum is an integral part of the monastery and houses a priceless collection of icons, consecrated vessels, manuscripts and Cypriot antiquities. The first President of Cyprus, Archbishop Makarios III served as a novice here.